Carl Smith, “Mr Country,” Released by Country Rewind Records

Carl Smith, “Mr Country,” was recently released by Country Rewind Records who’s well known tradition of bringing unreleased traditional country music into the contemporary country era has proven successful with previous projects. The latest release is being distributed by Select-O-Hits and available to order on Country Rewind Records website and on digital music platforms here.

“Mr Country” consists of tracks that have not been heard for decades and never commercially released. The tracks were recorded in Nashville for broadcast use only and have been hidden from the public. The original authentic sound is respected and supplemented with updated instruments and background vocals, to bring the new recordings into the contemporary country era. These recordings are a follow up to Country Rewind Records previous releases of such greats as Conway Twitty, Waylon Jennings, Connie Smith and more which received great reviews by music critics everywhere.

Carl Smith released hit songs from the late 50's thru the 1980's and was one of the few Country artist that  charted in three decades  These song versons were never released before and this album sounds as though it was recorded yesterday, not forty years ago.

Country Rewind Records, Thomas Gramuglia, rescued the master tapes which have been in storage for nearly 50 years. John Jungklaus handled the original master tape transfers. Carl Smith “Mr Country,” was produced by Larry Marrs, who has performed with many great artists, including Willie Nelson, Waylon Jennings and Johnny Cash. Larry took great pride to preserve the sound of a country Icon and bring it to today's standard. He was honored and thrilled to be part of this historical project. These long-forgotten recordings are now saved for prosperity.

Country Rewind Records has dedicated itself to bring classic country with this contemporary feel to not only the past country fans but also to the new country listeners.

Carl Smith “Mr. Country” Song List:
  1. Are You Teasing Me
  2. If Teardrops Were Pennies
  3. Deep Water
  4. Loose Talk
  5. Mr. Moon
  6. Hey Joe
  7. (When You Feel Like You're In Love) Don't Just Stand There
  8. There Stands The Glass
  9. I Love You Because
  10. Foggy River
  11. The Best Years Of Your Life
  12. She Called Me Baby
  13. I Over Looked An Orchid
  14. The Way I Lose My Mind
Order Carl Smith “Mr Country” on Amazon Music, Apple Music / iTunes and Google Play

Stay current with Country Rewind Records on their website and social media platform Facebook.

About Country Rewind Records:
Country Rewind Records (CRR) was founded by Thomas Gramuglia of Hindsight Records in 2014, Gramuglia obtained a treasure chest of unreleased recordings from recruitment radio shows from the ‘60s and ‘70s. The superb CRR collection of original master recordings contains music from more than 100 country music legends and trendsetters (including intimate performances by country music greats such as Loretta Lynn, George Jones, Connie Smith, Faron Young, Dolly Parton, Conway Twitty and many more). These recordings were never released for commercial use. After a diligent quest to collect appropriate and legal permissions from artists and/or their estates, CRR has now recorded and produced multiple, quintessential, “must-hear” projects. With the mission to transfer these never-heard-before tracks to a high quality, state-of-the-art recording; complemented by contemporary instrumentation and background vocals, Country Rewind Records will release this historical American music to America's music generations of the future. For more information visit

About Select-O-Hits:
Select-O-Hits  is owned by Sam W. Phillips and John Phillips, was co-founded in 1960 by their father, Tom Phillips, and uncle, Sam Phillips, the legendary founder of Sun Records. Tom Phillips began his career in music as Jerry Lee Lewis road manager for a number of years. He had invested all of his savings into an upcoming 1958 European tour when news of Lewis marriage to his 13 year-old cousin hit the front pages. Lewis career came to a sudden, although temporary, halt. The tour was cancelled, and Tom was broke. Sam helped him by giving him a job in the Sun Records warehouse and allowing Tom to live with him while his family stayed behind in Mobile, Alabama. Eventually, Tom saved enough money to send for his family in 1960. Tom was not satisfied with running the warehouse, so with the help of his wife, Lucille, he opened a small record store and one-stop that provided small, predominantly black-owned record stores with everything from phonograph needles to display racks. In the mid-1970s, Select-O-Hits began to concentrate more on distributing and less on retail and one-stops. The retail store closed in the mid-1980s, and the one-stop followed a few years later. Select-O-Hits has formed a number of successful record labels, such as Avenue, Icehouse, SOH, Brutal Records, Basix Music, Blues Works and Prophet Entertainment. In 1997 half of the company was sold to Malaco Records of Jackson, Mississippi. While all genres of music are represented in the family of labels Select-O-Hits distributes, Rap, Blues, Soul and Gospel are still the largest portion of the business. Today with sales offices and staff in Memphis, Atlanta, Nashville, Philadelphia, New York, Los Angeles, Sacramento, Miami, Chicago, Houston and Seattle, Select-O-Hits is one of the largest independent record distributors in the country, providing services for over 300 independent vendors to all key US music traditional "brick and mortar" retailers and digital media sites. For more information visit

No comments