Header Ads


NASHVILLE, Tenn. – (Thursday, Dec. 10, 2015) – This morning the 2015 Billboard Hot Country Lists were announced, revealing big wins for Shane McAnally and his Nashville-based publishing company, SMACKSongs, and fellow SMACKSongs writers.

After a year filled with six No.1 smash singles—tallying his career total to 15-and-counting—including the Hot Country No.1 Song of the Year, “Take Your Time,” it comes as no surprise that award-winning songwriter and producer, McAnally, was tapped as Billboard’s 2015 Hot Country Songwriter of the Year. He was also ranked No. 4 on Billboard’s 2015 Hot Country Songs Producers Chart for his work on the recently announced GRAMMY nominated albums Montevallo by Sam Hunt and Kacey Musgraves’ Pageant Material, to name a few.

McAnally had a whirlwind year, receiving a 2015 GRAMMY nomination, three ACM nominations and four CMA nominations. And as a lyricist and composer, McAnally co-wrote the music for the broadway-bound Moonshine: That Hee Haw Musical with Brandy Clark.

"I am so lucky to have collaborated with the most talented artists and writers in all of music, and have been championed by the best publishing team in the business," said McAnally.  "It takes a village and a miracle to have a year like this, and I am beyond grateful to get to do what I love every day."

In addition to McAnally’s personal accolades, SMACKSongs was recognized as the No. 7 publishing company on Billboard’s Hot Country Publishing Corporations List. SMACKSongs’ roster includes Josh Osborne, Trevor Rosen and Matthew Ramsey, who were ranked No. 3, No. 14 and No. 17 on the Hot Songwriters List respectively.

Collectively, these songwriters are responsible for 2015 chart-toppers recorded by Dierks Bentley, Kenny Chesney, Old Dominion, Blake Shelton, Keith Urban and more.  Earlier this year, McAnally, Osborne, Ramsey and Rosen were recognized in Billboard’s Nashville Power Players Issue as some of the top songwriters in the industry. McAnally was additionally featured on the issue’s cover as one of six Nashville Power Players.

No comments