Header Ads

CD Review: Chase Rice - Lambs & Lions

Chase Rice brings a breath of fresh air to country radio.

LAMBS & LIONS (Chase Rice)
Chase Rice

1. Lions
2. On Tonight
3. Unforgettable
4. Eyes On You
5. Saved Me
6. One Love, One Kiss, One Drink, One Song
7. Jack Daniel’s Showed Up
8. Three Chords & The Truth
9. Amen
10. This Cowboy’s Hat (feat. Ned LeDoux)

There are many ways to describe Chase Rice’s album, Lambs & Lions, especially the word inventive. The ten song album, which dropped November 17, 2017, truly shows his vulnerability, focusing on his development and growth since his sophomore record, Ignite the Night, which was released in 2014.

This album truly showcases the depth of Chase’s artistry. From emotional power ballads, to hints of pop, and even some rock influences here and there, Chase covered all the bases. Overall, the vibe of the album is extremely unique, honest, and is truly one of a kind.

Similarly to his Sophomore album, Rice co-wrote the majority of this new release. After his fans waited a little over three years for the new record, he surely didn’t disappoint. Aside from being authentic to who he is as an artist, it focuses on his faith and maturity.

The album begins with the title track ‘Lions,’ which establishes his faith by a choir chanting The Lord’s Prayer. This track even has a hint of what you’d find in the metal genre. His references to the Bible and church really emphasizes the importance and influence that his faith has in his music. This song was a great way to open the album, especially with the diversity he includes with the different genre influences.

Track four on Lambs & Lions, “Eyes On You”, is a sweet, refreshing love song with a catchy chorus and an overall happy vibe. This addition to the album is a sweet love song, that represents how he guides through relationships.

Speaking of the coast, remember Pfeiffer beach?
You and me, that sunset, cliffs by the sea
And the night rolled in
And you still talk about that moon that I can't recall”, this verse charmingly stated. Rice reminisces about Pfeiffer beach in California.

One song that stood out was Unforgettable. This song pulls on the heart-strings and is one of the more emotional songs on the record.

The closing track is a very unique piece. This being said, it is the only song on the record in which Rice did not co-write. It is a cover of the legendary Chris LeDoux. An extremely unique asset is that LeDoux’s son is featured on this track.

Rice continues to rise on the country charts and captivate fans with his new music, old music, and everything in between.

Chase Rice stays true to his faith and relationships in life and in love with this release and will no doubt be back with more. For pre-orders and more information, visit chaserice.com.

Grace Ferrell for Country Music News International Magazine & Radio Show

No comments