Header Ads

Skrizzly Adams Takes Home Grand Prize in 2015 International Songwriting Competition (ISC)

Atlantic Records Recording Artist Skrizzly Adams Takes Home Grand Prize in 2015 International Songwriting Competition (ISC)
Skrizzly Adams Wins $25,000 In Cash (US) And More in Merchandise

May 2, 2016 - - The International Songwriting Competition (ISC), considered to be the most prestigious and selective songwriting competition in the world, has announced its 2015 winners, selected from 18,500 entries from 120 countries worldwide.

The overall Grand Prize is awarded to the gifted songwriter/performer Skrizzly Adams for his song "Tipping Point." Upon learning that he won the overall Grand Prize, Skrizzly said, “Songwriting is my passion in life, so winning ISC is like winning the Heisman trophy!” Adams joins an elite group of Grand Prize winners, including Vance Joy, Kimbra, Gin Wigmore, Kasey Chambers, and more.

Hailing from Westfield, New Jersey, Skrizzly Adams is a songwriter who is difficult to pigeonhole (critics have described him as Bruce Springsteen meets Kanye West). Originally applying his musical talents to the art of producing, he only began to pursue singing professionally a couple of years ago, releasing his self-produced debut project, Stains, a year later. The EP quickly garnered the attention of several high-profile figures including blogger Perez Hilton and urban super producer Boi-1da, ultimately landing him a major label deal with Atlantic Records. In November, 2015, Skrizzly joined Elle King on her North American tour. More recently he just completed his first full tour with Lissie He is currently working on his debut album.

Winners were selected by a panel of judges which included: Kesha; American Authors; Pat Metheny; Lorde; Sara Evans; Bastille; Bill Withers; Keane; Danilo Perez; Hardwell; Gerald Casale (Devo); Joy Williams (The Civil Wars); Keb' Mo'; Sean Paul; Afro Celt Sound System; Craig Kallman (Chairman/CEO, Atlantic Records); Dan McCarroll (President, Warner Bros. Records); Daniel Glass (President, Glassnote Records); Craig Balsam (Owner, Razor & Tie Records); Kevin Welk (Chief Creative, Vanguard and Sugar Hill Records); Steve Yegelwel (Senior Vice President, Capitol Records); Bruce Iglauer (Founder/President, Alligator Records); and many more.

To see the complete list of all category winners and to hear the winning songs, go to http://www.songwritingcompetition.com/winners

No comments