Header Ads

Sweet Potato Pie Brand New Day

Mountain Fever Records Releases New CD From
Sweet Potato Pie

February 28, 2012 (Willis, VA) —  Mountain Fever Records is proud to announce the release of Brand New Day, the latest CD from North Carolina-based Sweet Potato Pie.

Sweet Potato Pie has been entertaining audiences for over a decade with their classy blend of bluegrass, country and gospel music mixed together in a style called “sweetgrass”. Comprised of Sonya Stead on guitar; Chrystal Richardson on banjo; Katie Springer on fiddle; and Sandy Whitley on bass; this all female band has carved out a place for themselves among the bluegrass community with their own toe-tapping original tunes, driving instrumentals and classic songs from Patsy Cline, Bill Monroe, the Judds and many more. Their unique sound revolves around their sparkling three-part harmony and infectious personalities that resonate with audiences everywhere they go. Sponsored by the North Carolina Sweet Potato Association, this band takes their music and their message seriously; promoting local farmers, good health and great music throughout the country. 

Brand New Day is the sixth release from the group and while their music is presented with the typical instruments found in a 4-piece bluegrass ensemble, Sweet Potato Pie has elected to include a few more country-tinged songs for this project. "Quite honestly, we are all fans of the older country music," explained Sonya Stead. "We started realizing that our kids had never heard of some of the music that we grew up listening to such as Tanya Tucker, Randy Travis and even Ernest Tubb, so we thought it was about time we introduce them to the great songs that we've loved for so long and maybe put our own 'sweet-grass' style to it." As a result, Brand New Day offers several songs that were first made popular by artists such as Tanya Tucker ("Delta Dawn"), The Judds ("Rockin' With The Rhythm Of The Rain") and Ernest Tubb ("Walking The Floor"). Even so, no Sweet Potato Pie record would be complete without a generous helping of new music and this project offers six original songs; three from the pen of Sonya Stead, one from Crystal Richardson and two written by former Pie band member, Missy Payne. Mountain Fever Records executive Mark Hodges could not be more pleased with the project. "When the ladies arrived at our studios to start recording this project, they were motivated, prepared, and just shined when the red light came on. We are thrilled to present Brand New Day to bluegrass and traditional country music fans alike."

Mountain Fever Records is proud to announce the official release of Sweet Potato Pie's Brand New Day to radio and consumers worldwide. Radio programmers may download the new project via AirplayDirect or directly from Mountain Fever Records by emailing radio@mountainfever.com. For more information on Sweet Potato Pie, visit www.sweet-potato-pie.com or www.MountainFever.com


1.  Sweet Blue Eyed Darling Listen Now!
2.  Rockin' With The Rhythm Of The Rain Listen Now!
3.  Brain Cloudy Blues Listen Now!
4.  Gonna Run Listen Now!
5.  Deeper Than The Holler Listen Now!
6.  Redeeming Love Listen Now!
7.  Delta Dawn Listen Now!
8.  Will You Listen Now!
9.  Roly Poly Listen Now!
10. Walking The Floor Listen Now!
11. Ripe For The Pickin' Listen Now!
12. Crinkle Listen Now!
13. Tell Me Why Listen Now!

No comments